My Car is Totaled

19 03 2010

I just talked to my insurance company, and as it turns out–MY CAR IS TOTALED.  I’ve never had a car totaled before.  It feels strange.  Especially since the last time I drove the car, I had no idea it would be my last time.

Yesterday I went to the grocery store, for some butter and onions.  I came out of the store with 3 bags full of groceries on one arm and the baby carrier on the other arm.  As I stepped off the curb, I had a moment of panic–I didn’t see my car.  Was it stolen?  It took a moment, but relief set in when I remembered that the burgundy rental, parked at the end of the row was the car I was driving.

This morning I went to push the start button.  There isn’t a start button in the rental car.  These are certainly infinitesimal issues when I consider the larger issue of fire hazards and car safety, but they are little reminders that I am dealing with a situation that I didn’t create or anticipate. 

So between the volume of work on the job, the babies’ reoccurring ear infection and all the other things going on, the last thing I wanted to hear this morning was that my car was totaled.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

